Table of Contents Previous topic Next topic
Downloading and Running a Program->Running with a Target Reset
If you select Reset before download, the debugger will reset your target board before it downloads your program.
This reset will destroy any settings for the chip selects, SRAM and dynamic RAM and so in order for your program to be successfully downloaded, the memory of the target board must be appropriately configured. This initial configuration must be carried out by the debugger which it does with a script file that you must provide.
If you choose the Reset after download option, then this will also destroy any settings for the chip selects, SRAM and dynamic RAM. Therefore your program will be responsible for configuring the target board.
If you choose the Do not download the program option, a script file is not required. It is assumed that your program will configure the target board.
If you are downloading into RAM, then you must uncheck the Reset after download option otherwise your downloaded program will be destroyed by the reset process.
When you uncheck Reset after download, the No reset vector option becomes available.
If you leave the No reset vector option unchecked, the debugger will assume that the program entry point points to the reset vector and it will initialise the program counter to the address that this reset vector points to.
If you select the No reset vector option, the debugger will initialise the program counter to the program entry point.